Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Best scanner for retouching/restoration work??

Old 01-09-2011, 10:04 PM
Question Best scanner for retouching/restoration work??

I am just starting out with a photo retouching and restoration business. I'd like to purchase a new scanner that has all the range I will need for restorations. Obviously I'm looking for a scanner with great resolution, dynamic range and bit depth... but I'm at a loss with finding one in my price range ($300 +-). I know the higher-end models have the higher-end prices... but $10,000 reeeally isn't do-able for me right now (or ever)

Anyone have any suggestions of specific models out now on the $300-$400 range or less that is a quality product?

While we're on the topic, are there any other MUST HAVE tools you would recommend looking into purchasing for a retouching business? I have a (1 year-old) 27" imac and a Wacom Bamboo tablet so far.

Any help is very much appreciated!

Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2011, 10:33 AM
Re: Best scanner for retouching/restoration work??

For photo restoration work I would buy a camera instead of a scanner.

Some of the advantages: can copy large photos at one time, no need to scan in pieces and trying to splice them back together, can solve any silvering problems before the image gets into the computer, if you have a number of originals to copy, its faster than a scanner, can be used for more than just copy work.

For about $1500 you can get what you need.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-15-2011, 05:48 PM

also bear in mind that mike is a professional photographer and knows exactly how to do that to get great results. the rest of us maybe not so much. still, it's an option and since mike is a pro, dont let me talk you out of it.