RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Any iPad users here?

Old 02-11-2011, 11:06 PM
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron

Any iPad users here?

I have lots of experience working with Apple laptops and desktops as an IT person in higher ed, but haven't been quick to join the mobile device crowd, mainly due to the cost and the lack of a real need. Of course I see students using such technology all the time. And my daughter has been graduating her way through a number of iPods, and is now using the current iPod Touch.

An opportunity just arose for me to buy an upcoming iPad 2 at a steep discount through a colleague, which offer I accepted. In the meantime I am borrowing their first gen iPad over the weekend to play around more than I already have in the various electronics stores.

It's an incredible piece of technology, with its own user-interactive paradigm that takes some getting used to (ie, I am not thrilled with editing text on it as compared to a laptop or desktop; on the web I like tabbed browsing but the iPad seems to take a different approach, etc.).

So, who here has an iPad and what do you use it for?
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2011, 12:35 AM
Janitor

Re: Any iPad users here?

My favorite use for my iPad is to have it on the table next to my TV chair so I can hit "pause" and look up something on Wikipedia. I also like reading Kindle books (even more than on an actual Kindle). And it can't be beat for reading long PDF files (I bought a DVD with every issue of a magazine I enjoyed converted to PDF and transferred the entire thing to the iPad).

The most practical use (but not a big use) is to fix registration and technical problems for the RP LIVE rebroadcasts while they're happening.

I have plans to use it for some music and MIDI projects, but those keep getting pushed further down the road.