RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Retouching Injuries?

Old 07-27-2011, 12:27 PM

Question Retouching Injuries?

This would seem the most appropriate category to post this question. And yes at first glance it seems funny. But was wondering how many others out there suffer (even just a little) from Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI), also referred to as repetitive motion disorder (RMD). Basically from use of the stylus or mouse all day long.

I have been retouching for many years, but since the beginning of the year I've had a 9-5 only doing retouching. I work exclusively with a stylus. I have been noticing a stiffness in the joints of my index finger. I don't think I hold the stylus tight at all but wondering what I can start to do about it. And wondering who else might suffer as well. Thanks
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-27-2011, 01:52 PM
Janitor

Re: Retouching Injuries?

I added a wrist pad to my tablet a few years back due to wrist pain. It helped a lot. Your local office supply store probably sells foam sleeves meant for pens and pencils. I've heard some people add those to their stylus (you have to cut a little slot for the toggle).
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-27-2011, 05:33 PM

Hi Mike
Sorry to hear about the stiffness. I have had some ergonomic issues at the computer that cause some problems. Fixed the ergonomic problems and the issues went away. They were not caused by repetiive motion but from arms, wrists, fingers (and also a knee) not being in what I was told was the neutral position. This may or may not relate to your issue so take a grain of salt with the info and also consider consulting your doctor.