RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Can you help me choose a new Monitor?

Old 05-12-2012, 07:45 PM

Question Can you help me choose a new Monitor?

Hello!
I am in the process of updating my gear, I recently bought a Mac Mini and now I'm on the hunt for a screen. My budget is no more than 450 euros. Within that Price Range many people I know have recommended Dell Monitors while others told me to avoid Dell like a diseased exotic dancer because of anti-glare coating issues and short durability. So now I'm not sure what to do, someone suggested the Asus PA246Q to me, what do you all think? Do you have any suggestions? I'm still pretty new to the retouching game but with 100% sRBG coverage this screen seems pretty good, right? Since I'm planning on working in Fashion, Advertising and Beauty, I do believe our teacher said that clients require sRBG images for printing, am I correct? Sorry for my technoobishness. (Is that even a word?)

Thanks Guys, I'm looking forward to your suggestions!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2012, 05:09 AM

Re: Can you help me choose a new Monitor?

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2012, 05:34 AM
Janitor

With that limited budget, I'd go with a smaller Dell or HP IPS monitor. But keep some room in your budget for a calibrator, no matter what monitor you choose.

You might want to check out Andrew Rodney's shows over on our rental page.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2012, 05:57 AM

Thanks Doug. I have a calibrator, a Spyder Pro I believe which was given to us at the beginning of the year. What do you think of the ASUS? I can get a good deal on it where I live.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2012, 06:56 AM
Janitor