RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Hardware
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hardware Computers, displays, tablets, scanners, cameras, printers, etc.

Home Networking

Old 03-02-2003, 11:11 AM

Home Networking

Does anyone have any experience in networking two computers together? One has XP Home and the other Win 98SE.

I've read some articles on the internet about networking problems with XP. Driver problems mainly.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2003, 11:38 AM

Talking My experience for what it's worth

Hi, I have no experience in creating a persistent Windows home network, but I did help a friend connect her old Win98 machine to her new XP box so she could transfer files. My experience might be informative.

We used an ethernet crossover cable and connected the two computers. Then we ran the wizard on both computers but bailed out when we couldn't find any instructions for connecting with ethernet cable. Then we tried just sharing a folder on the Win98 box, but it wouldn't show up on the XP machine.

After many frustrating hours, we finally ran the wizards again to completion, but when we STILL couldn't share, we went for supper and when my friend returned, the files were happily being shared - it seemed to need time to build the network or something.

I have to tell you that I'm a Mac person to the core and hooking up two macs is dead easy. I'm not a Win person at all, so I was expecting it to be hard.

Turns out, all we needed was a bit of patience (to let the machines do their thing) and we would have been done in under 5 minutes (3 of that dragging both boxes out from under the desk so we could hook up the cable)

I have both my Macs networked with the DSL modem using a simple router and some cable. Works for me.

Take care Margaret
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2003, 03:23 PM

Win98 is probably the computer with the error.

Check list

Both computers have the same network name