RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > HDR, Panoramas and Tone Mapping
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

HDR, Panoramas and Tone Mapping Merging several different exposures into a single image

Grainy HDR's

Old 06-26-2011, 10:12 PM

Grainy HDR's

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post so I'm sorry if I'm doing this wrong. I'm relatively new to both photography and HDR, but I've been trying to dive into both. I took a bunch of pictures today and ran everything through PhotoMatrix 4.0.2, and ended up with some grainy looking picture. I understand that noise is a big issue with HDR photography and that's what I'm attributing it too (though I could very well be very wrong). Here is my image courtesy of TinyPics. I'm a poor post-grad without hundreds of dollars to spend on noise-reduction software. Can anyone recommend anything that might make this photo look a bit sharper? I'd really appreciate any help.

http://i55.tinypic.com/5vyumx.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-26-2011, 10:26 PM
Janitor

Re: Grainy HDR's

Did you shoot JPG or raw? I don't see grain as much as JPG artifacts.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-26-2011, 10:37 PM

I shot with JPEG using a Nikon D5000 if that helps at all.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-26-2011, 11:09 PM
Patron

Sealand, welcome to RetouchPro. When you crank up the Strength slider your cause tone inversion and when you set the Microcontrast high you significantly amplify the noise especially in the highlight areas, such as the skies. I assume you have those set reasonably high. What I would recommend you do after you have set those two sliders is:
1. Increase the Micro Smoothing slider. This counteracts the Microcontrast as smooth out the grittyness. Increase it enough until you have a good compromise. Alternately you can layer a gritty version and a smooth version in photoshop and selective blend the two with a layer mask.