RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

CMYK vs. RGB (long winded)

Old 04-07-2003, 11:55 AM

Question CMYK vs. RGB (long winded)

First, I want to thank Richard for a great book and tools. I'm a relative newbie to digital photography but I'm learning a lot.

Over the weekend, I was calibrating my printer (Canon S820) to match the output on my monitor. I've calibrated the monitor (actually, an LCD panel) with Adobe Gamma and everything looks good. Images downloaded from my camera look pretty good for color balance and brightness.

I then printed a number of test pages to try to closely match the output from the printer to the LCD monitor.

I used this for a test image: a3gencolorhigh.pdf Actually, I used the first page. It has several CMYK color patches, several grayscale bars, and some rich color images. After several pages and changing settings, I was able to nail the colors and black levels. I can hold the print to the LCD and it's almost spot on.

So what's my question? In a minute...

So all was well with printing from Acrobat, but I wanted to make sure Photoshop Elements would also match, so I opened the a3gencolorhigh.pdf in Elements and printed it again. In PE, the imaged looke the same as in Acrobat (I had both programs open, and put the windows side-by-side), and the print output matched the LCD. Again, all is well.

(As the late great Archie Bunker was known to say, "Get to the pernt, Edith!")