RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

PSE + HPE vs. PS?

Old 05-13-2003, 09:03 PM

PSE + HPE vs. PS?

I've been using PSE2 for a couple of months, and am picking up (slowly, but hopefully surely!), the techniques (and tools) of HPE...

I'm an educator, so I am in the (enviable?) position of being to (legally!) buy Photoshop for about $280 (vs. the $40 I spent on PSE2).

I am not a digital artist. My only current interest is in entering the amateur digital imaging business (as a hobby), so I want to be able to improve the photographs I have and will take in the future.

I'm curious if folks with experience with both products would find the additional capabilities of PS worth getting at $280 vs. sticking with PSE2 with the benefit of the HPE tools (at no more cost than I've spent already!).
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-15-2003, 10:49 PM

I haven't used both but am in almost the same spot as you... I have decided to work hard to exhaust all my options with elements before throwning away the cash for the full version. I haven't run into anything yet that I need to do and can't but I am just a newbie. If it wasn't for HPE I would already have spent the money... Thanks Richard.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-16-2003, 08:57 AM

Glad that Hidden Power is helping you realize the potential of Elements gbbiv!

Camner, I really think that getting Photoshop should be something that you will know you need rather than think you need -- or maybe just even want. Many people will tell you that PS is the only way to go, but I would ask those same people "Why?" Most of the time you will get answers like "there's no Channels or curves or CMYK...and if you have my book, you know that isn't true.