RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

Making a Mask from a Luminosity Layer

Old 05-28-2003, 04:43 PM

Question Making a Mask from a Luminosity Layer

Let me start off by saying I am very new to the world of digital imaging. I am working through Richard's wonderful book and following along with each exercise in order to gain a full understanding of the whys and hows. In chapter 3 he isolates the shadows in an image by converting a luminosity layer into a mask. During the procedure he creates an empty, transparent layer and then merges the (modified) luminosity layer on to it to create the mask. I'm trying to determine why this step is necessary other than the fact it doesn't work otherwise. Why wouldn't the luminosity layer, which had already been modified to include the requisite transparent areas, suffice as a mask without the need for merging with a blank layer. The engineer in me needs to know to foster my understanding. Forgive the long post, but I couldn't find a more concise way to ask.

Thanks in advance,
Jeff
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-28-2003, 07:47 PM

Hello, Jeff, and welcome.

Regardless how long any of us have been messing with digital, we're all still new with it to some degree.

Until Richard jumps in to the rescue (he usually checks the forums on a regular, almost daily basis), I'm looking through his book (just got it, but haven't read it). Maybe I'm not looking close enough, but I'm not seeing anything about layer or luminosity masks in Ch 3.

Give me a specific page # you're working from and I'll see if I can decipher your question.

~DannyR~
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-28-2003, 08:04 PM