RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

CMYK Separation as TIFF?

Old 02-12-2004, 08:25 PM

CMYK Separation as TIFF?

I'm submitting some digital photos to a magazine to be considered for inclusion in an upcoming issue. Here's a quote stating how to submit them:

> If sending your submission on cd, please save to Photoshop TIFF,
> CMYK, 300 dpi minimum with color proofs (fetch catalog appreciated)
> approximately 5x7 size.

I want to make sure I understand this and can do it in Elements. Does this mean I just run through the "CMYK Process" hidden power tool and then save only the grayscale representations of each color into a layered TIFF file - i.e. 4 different grayscale layers in the same file? Is this a common format for submission to a printing service? I have very little experience with the world of print and paper.

Thanks for any help,
---
Steve
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2004, 10:49 PM

I would say no.

Quote:
> If sending your submission on cd, please save to Photoshop TIFF,
> CMYK, 300 dpi minimum with color proofs (fetch catalog appreciated)
> approximately 5x7 size.

I want to make sure I understand this and can do it in Elements. Does this mean I just run through the "CMYK Process" hidden power tool and then save only the grayscale representations of each color into a layered TIFF file - i.e. 4 different grayscale layers in the same file? Is this a common format for submission to a printing service? I have very little experience with the world of print and paper.