Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

newbie help w/ stamp tool

Old 02-20-2004, 10:20 AM
Question newbie help w/ stamp tool

Hello, everyone... I have a problem using Elements 2.0, but I first would like to write a brief intro.

I'm new to Elements, but not new to PCs. I used to be a network engineer for a rather large communications co. I'm now disabled due to a stroke that occured in'02. Another unrelated event occured which affected my vision. I get by and do the nest I can despite this.

Last year I bought myself a scanner, a digital camera, and eventually Photoshop Elements 2.0. I've been very impresssed with PE's cabilities & features. So much so that I've resolved myself to go through my new book titled "Photshop Elements For Windows & Macontosh" by Christopher Dahl & Craig Hoeschen. This resolve is very unusual for me. I've really enjoyed the book so far even though I've only made it to chapter 2.

I did manage to skip ahead a little and find some info when I needed help... Without further theatrics, I'm hoping I can get some help with the following:

I have an old photo I'm attempting to fix. In doing this, I'd like to use the clone stamp tool. In doing so, I follow the procedure in the 'Photoshop Elements For Windows & McIntosh' book but for some umknown reason I can't get it to work right. I chose the stamp tool, then select a brush, and leave the default options, then when I go to select a clone area of the photo, by holding down the ALT key & clicking, the tool stamps the previous pattern/colors instead of copying the area when I click. Then I have to 'undo' that particular stamp because it stamped instead of acquiring the pattern/color of the clone area and it's totally wrong.