RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

Change layer to graphics layer?

Old 03-08-2004, 10:03 PM

Change layer to graphics layer?

I'm a newbie and this is my first attempt at a post.

In Elements is it possible to change a layer into a graphics layer? In Photoshop it is accomplished in the layer menu>type >render layer. I want to vary the transparency of each letter of a word by 10 %, for example, without having to put each letter on its own layer. I tried the fade effect in the HP tools and using the opacity control but it only worked on the entire layer. I could not find a way to do each letter individually on one layer.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-09-2004, 02:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by trvlnmn@comcast
I'm a newbie and this is my first attempt at a post.

In Elements is it possible to change a layer into a graphics layer? In Photoshop it is accomplished in the layer menu>type >render layer. I want to vary the transparency of each letter of a word by 10 %, for example, without having to put each letter on its own layer. I tried the fade effect in the HP tools and using the opacity control but it only worked on the entire layer. I could not find a way to do each letter individually on one layer.
If you want a gradual fade, then add a layer mask to the text using the HPA3 tools, then draw a black/white gradient across the mask - the text will show 100 per cent where the mask is white, not at all where it is black and partially where it is grey. (if you want to vary the fade in discrete steps it is just a matter of colouring the mask behind each letter the darkness of grey to give the right amount of fade.

Layer/simplify layer will turn a text layer into an ordinary layer (same effect as render layer in PS, I believe).
Susan S.
Reply With Quote top