RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

Layer Mask

Old 06-24-2004, 02:13 PM

Layer Mask

I have just downloaded the Hidden Power tools for PS Elements 2.0.

I wanted to learn how to isolate a subject easier than using the background erase tool, which took forever to use! I was told to use the poly lasso and then apply the layer mask to clean up the edges. Well... once I click on the layer mask link in the Hidden Power panel, I get a message saying the "make" command is not available yet - Cancel or Continue.

I'm pretty new to photo editing and I have no idea what that means.

I guess I need help understanding what the layer mask really is and how do I get it to work. Is it the easiest way to do what I want to do?

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2004, 05:38 PM

I suspect that you are working on the background layer ... and layers masks don't work on that layer. Go to the layers palette and double click on the background layer then when the menu pops up just click on OK. Layer Masks will work once you have done that.

Another way is to duplicate the background layer (Layer>Duplicate Layer or in the Layers Palette drag the Background layer down to the create layer icon) that will also make your layer mask work.

Wendy
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-24-2004, 07:18 PM

Good answer Wendy.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-25-2004, 10:39 AM

Thank you Wendy for helping. I did go and check and it wasn't labeled Background. I did duplicate the layer just in case. I still get the same response.

Maybe I don't understand how the layer mask works, how to use it or even what it is.

What should be happening when I click on the the layer mask link in hidden power? Is it much different than using the erase tool? Is it better or easier?