RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Hidden Power Support
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Hidden Power Support Support and discussion area for Richard Lynch's book and software series

Help for a newbie

Old 01-09-2005, 10:16 PM

Unhappy Help for a newbie

Looks like I got in over my head with the book. I'm pretty new to all this. I got Elements 2 with my scanner, sans manual, and played around with it a bit. Then I bought 3, and then your excellent book. However, I'm not even that familiar with the interface. Is there some more basic book you could point me to to get me started? I'd also like to use the Album aspects to keep tabs of my pictures.

Maybe in a bit I can then start splitting out the R G and B elements and working with them. I hadn't even done anything with layers up until now, although at least I had played with the Levels feature...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2005, 04:35 AM

My standard reply to this is that you don't need another book, because there is always the manual. Granted you have to read it at your computer, but it is there. However, it is also free...and you already have it.

Start up Elements and select Photoshop Elements Help from the Help menu. This will open Elements help. On the left of the screen there is a content menu. click on the arrow to the left of the Help Topics, and this will reveal an extensive menu of categories. click on the arrow to the left of the first category (Understanding the Work Area) and you will see an extensive list of topics there. Start reading from the top down.