RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > History, Conservation, and Repair
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

History, Conservation, and Repair The history of photographic prints, and how best to care for and repair them.

photo repair (not restoration)

Old 11-20-2001, 02:20 PM
Janitor

photo repair (not restoration)

I get about an email a month asking for actual physical repair of a photo. I'd no idea there was actually an industry for this until Jim Conway posted.

So, let's discuss. Who's doing it? How's it done? What educational resources are there out there?
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-01-2002, 01:15 PM

I was hoping someone would respond here because I am curious about the traditional processes. I can see how dirt and stains might be managed and even fading but how do they fix physical damage such as tears and folds etc.
DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2002, 08:06 PM

Photo Repair

Hi Guys!

I'm new to RetouchPRO so I wanted to put in a post and get my feet wet.

I am a paper and photographs conservator so I not only do digital restoration but also physically repair photographs, cases, and such. I might be able to help answer some of the preservation type questions.

There are a lot of physical repairs that can be done to photographs to preserve them such as repairing tears, removing tapes and adhesives, cleaning off grime, infilling, inpainting and so on. You will find few conservators who will tell you how to clean or repair a photograph as a "Do it yourselfer" mainly because it is so easy to screw one up. Photographs can be tricky things to work on and the exact treatment that is used is dependant on many factors one of which is the type of photograph (emulsion and support structure). Every photograph is a different and requires a different approach to treatment. In fact I will rarely give ballpark estimates without seeing the piece and doing a few tests first.