Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > History, Conservation, and Repair
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

History, Conservation, and Repair The history of photographic prints, and how best to care for and repair them.

Removing old glued photos from paper

Old 09-07-2005, 09:33 PM
Question Removing old glued photos from paper

Hi there -- a newbie here...

I'm "attempting" to update my in-laws' old photo album for their 50th Anniversary (Sat. the 1oth). The paper is very very very old... and the pictures are glued on both sides! They just won't budge without ripping them. I tried holding them over a steaming pot of water, but am afraid they will get damaged. Any help here would be GREATLY appreciated ~

Thank you thank you thank (in advance)

Reply With Quote top
Old 09-07-2005, 10:00 PM

hullo again...

Maybe this isn't the right forum for my problem... sorry, but I just googled my dilemma and came up with this site -- looks like a very good one too! Sure hope there's a genie in this jar though.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-07-2005, 11:34 PM
hi suzy,

and welcome to RP!

there are a couple threads on this here in the forums....somewhere. try a search and see if you cant find them.

and just to clarify this, when you say glued on both sides, i'm assuming that the picture is glued to the page, but that now the opposing page is glued to the front of the picture as well?

and just as preliminary work to help any others that come along to help, can you identify the paper type at all, or describe it? and maybe what year these photos were taken to help identify emulsion types and photo paper types? dont know if those will really help anyone, but certainly cant hurt.

also, if the album had plastic pages, was it one of those 'magnetic' type photo albums where the plastic has sort of a magnetic effect on laying down on the prints?