RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > History, Conservation, and Repair
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

History, Conservation, and Repair The history of photographic prints, and how best to care for and repair them.

Scanning B&W negatives

Old 07-20-2006, 05:44 PM

Question Scanning B&W negatives

I'm about to embark on scanning a box of 1940s and 50s B&W negatives I found among my late mother's things.

Being a complete novice, I read and reread all the postings on the forum I could find before starting in earnest. I picked up a lot of useful information but just now, when I thought I was ready to go, I discovered that there's something I don't know and didn't see mentioned: should I scan with the shiny side of the negative facing down towards the bed or up towards the lid?

I guess that the negative's orientation would affect whether or not the image was the right way round (left to right) but, apart from that, it occurred to me that it might be important that the light passes through the emulsion and the film in the correct direction.

I'd be grateful for a steer on this matter and any further tips about getting it right. Thank you,

Anne
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-20-2006, 07:44 PM
Patron

Scanning Negatives

Hi Ambrosie and welcome to Retouch Pro!
I hope you are not trying to scan the negatives on a flatbed scanner without a transparency adapter. If you are it will likely not work or produce very poor results.
For proper results you need a transparency adapter or a dedicated slide / negative scanner.
Generally the emulsion side faces the scanner, which is also the way they are printed. It will still work if you inverted but you images will need to be flipped horizontally to be correctly oriented.