RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > History, Conservation, and Repair
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

History, Conservation, and Repair The history of photographic prints, and how best to care for and repair them.

file format to use

Old 01-13-2003, 09:09 AM

Question file format to use

I am just getting started in copying old family pictures. I will be making a master set (a digital orginal unretouched master copy) to suppliment a Family Tree Maker file that my daughter is working on.

I am most familiar with Photoshop and started saving them in .psd format. I then wondered what the best file format would be for archival purposes. Is there a comon file format that archivists use that is not likely to change over the years?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-13-2003, 10:36 AM

Makes sense. I was leaning toward TIF or Raw.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-13-2003, 03:11 PM

Tif is the way I'd go...I think anyway... specifically because the file doesn't get compressed and information isn't lost in the compression as it does in jpeg. I prefer saving in Tiff as I work (unless I've got layers then I use psd) repetitive saves in jpeg format significantly reduces the quality of the image.

Just my two cents.

--Heather

Last edited by Lampy; 01-13-2003 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-13-2003, 04:17 PM

Two votes for TIF (which I have decided to use) any votes for RAW???
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-13-2003, 06:49 PM

Thanks to all 'ancient' travelers.

Tif seems the way to go.

Many thanks to all.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2003, 09:05 AM

Interesting question. Now that I have a CD burner I can save larger files. I had read that JPEG files diminish on each save but what about PSD files???? What is a PSD format? Last year I restored a bunch of old family photos and archived them on CD in PSD format, even after flattening.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2003, 09:20 AM

Cinderella,