RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Introduction and Selective exposure correction

Old 03-21-2005, 03:03 PM

Smile Introduction and Selective exposure correction

Hi there!

I am a brand-newbie and this is my first posting. A little history, I studied photography in school but quit before finishing I went back for graphic design where I was introduced to Photoshop and realized that photography is what I really love. Right now I stay at home and raise my daughter-my favorite and most challenging subject to photograph-and try to work on my skills when I can.

I've always struggled w/obtaining the right exposure(manually) which brings me to the subject of this post. In the attached image, I'd like to open up that left side(eye, hat, sunflower)some more without blowing out that right side too much. I should of used a reflector but it was a spur of the moment thing... Anyway, most of the threads that I found dealt w/ global exposure adjustments. I tried to use the gradient mask technique (p.71 Eismann) but, for some reason, it kept adjusting the whole picture. If anyone can give me some ideas as to how to approach this problem I'd greatly appreciate it.

Also, something that confused me in Eismanns book is that she strongly suggests working w/ both high-bit files and adjustment layers. This is not possible w/ PS 7. This seems contradictory to me. How do you get around it?

Thanks in advance

D
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SunflowerHat.jpg (35.0 KB, 66 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-21-2005, 03:49 PM

Hi Inskip,