RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

how to rebuild faces overlaid with writing?

Old 03-28-2005, 03:53 PM

how to rebuild faces overlaid with writing?

Hi, gang,

I came across this old family photo and have been trying like made to remove the photographer's 'Sample' mark which was drawn across several faces.

While normally I'd be happy to respect the photographer's copyright (I'm a photographer, myself), this shot was taken somewhere in East Germany in about 1937 and I have no idea how to track down the photographer to get permission...thus my need to post here and ask: How on earth can I remove the writing to restore this photo? Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

-Greg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg crop-01.jpg (86.4 KB, 70 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2005, 04:11 PM

Hi Greg, it looks like you've scanned this in B&W? If you can post a colour scan it might give us some extra tricks to play with (possibly). How was SAMPLE written on the photo?
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2005, 04:26 PM

here's the full-sized plus another crop

Hi, Caitlin,

Thanks for the quick reply! Here's a full-size post (originally shot in B&W but tinted by age, I believe) along with a larger spot crop. I could only guess as to what type of pen/pencil/marker the original photog used to write on the photo. I feel no texture when I run my finger over it, so it doesn't appear to be a grease pencil, but I could be wrong (is it possible the grease wore away?).

I hope this helps, and thanks again.

-Greg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg full-size-01.jpg (93.0 KB, 57 views)
File Type: jpg crop-02.jpg (92.0 KB, 32 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2005, 04:44 PM

maybe select areas of similar density,
place them on thier own layers and play with the curves