RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Newbie seeks help

Old 05-15-2005, 04:34 AM

Newbie seeks help

Hi all,

Firstly can I say I'm very much a newbie; in fact I have only been using PS Elements about a week or so. However, the tutorials on here have been very useful and I think I'm making some headway. Thanks.

I'm an amateur film photographer who has had to grasp the nettle and start scanning and working on my own images. The attached photo of a man in Tigray Ethiopia is one of my favourites but was taken in the very strong sun and suffers (in my amateur eyes) from burnt out highlights and strong shadows as well as strange skin tones (harsh sun?) and a distracting highlight on the nose from the bright light.

Accordingly I've had a go at trying to deal with these. But I would welcome advice as to what I could do better (and how to do it?). Please note that I have cropped the altered version but I have uploaded the full scan of the original.

Thanks in anticipation as everyone here seems so helpful!

regards

John B (UK)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg original.jpg (98.2 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg altered.jpg (96.8 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-15-2005, 05:24 AM

Hi John,

Welcome to RP!

First of all great shot!!!

You also did a good job in correcting the problems you have pointed out!

Even though, it might be my monitor, but your correction looks a tad 'muddy/grey' to me ... You managed quite well to soften the highlights, but the shadows are, in my opinion, still very dark...

I don't have PSE ... (I work with PS CS), but I had a go at your picture only to show what I meant...