RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Help with colorizing

Old 06-25-2005, 03:50 PM

Help with colorizing

Hi, I am restoring a photo of my uncle when he was a child, and I have pretty much got the major problems with the photo corrected, but now I would like to colorize the image. I have never done any coloring before, so this is all new to me. The technique I have been trying was using the regular paint brush on a seperate layer set to "color" blending mode. This seems to work pretty well for the most part, but does anyone have any better suggestions?
My main problem areas are the "fuzzy edges" stuff like the hair, and the dirt/grass. What would be the best way to approach this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg onhorse.jpg (99.5 KB, 34 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-25-2005, 08:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarxrax
Hi, I am restoring a photo of my uncle when he was a child, and I have pretty much got the major problems with the photo corrected, but now I would like to colorize the image. I have never done any coloring before, so this is all new to me. The technique I have been trying was using the regular paint brush on a seperate layer set to "color" blending mode. This seems to work pretty well for the most part, but does anyone have any better suggestions?
My main problem areas are the "fuzzy edges" stuff like the hair, and the dirt/grass. What would be the best way to approach this?

You can conduct a Search for "colorizing" on this website and see what others have done and said on the subject.

Probably the best colorizer in this forum is Vikki -- here is a link to one of her posts with a couple of recommendations (using a sepia layer, and visiting Worth1000's website to use a tutorial based there)