Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Severely Blurred sentimental photo

Old 07-05-2005, 07:50 PM
Severely Blurred sentimental photo

My Aunt has asked me to try and fix a photo of her father taken their last holiday together. He has recently passed away and this photo means a lot to her. The picture is very blurry and I don't know if it can be fixed. I am a beginner, I've only done some basic restoring of old family photo's, and this picture is way beyond my skill level. I use photoshop elements 2.0 but I'm not really sure what tools to try besides the unsharp mask and I'm not getting very good results. It could be that I am doing something wrong, but I'm not sure where to start or even if there is any hope for such a blurry photo. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dadslast.jpg (99.9 KB, 84 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-05-2005, 11:19 PM

welcome to retouchpro!

that pic is pretty far gone, but i did manage to help it a bit. the first thing i did was resize it by 50% and then by 50% again. then, i ran it through 'Unshake', a program for handling blurs and camera shake images. after that i ran it through paint shop pro 7, the salt and pepper filter at 5/5 to clean it up a bit.

now, you might get it even better by running multiple passes through unshake or unshake, then a noise reducer, then unshake again and so on.

the settings i used in unshake were 'severe blur', 'portrait', 'amplification 10', x1.

i'm posting a copy.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg dadslast2-10a.jpg (96.2 KB, 71 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-06-2005, 12:42 AM
Hi Chris,

basically the bad news is there's nothing you can do to that image that will give you what you want, which is a crisp sharply focused picture.