RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Civil War mustache

Old 07-10-2005, 02:02 PM

Civil War mustache

Hey all, Im actually pretty proud of this one. I was totally blown away at what detail and quality I was able to recover Using Photoshop. I'm no airbrush artists so I didnt "create" any of the retouch excpet totally repaintign the the white shirt. I tried do give it some depth but my shading is primitive. ANd I had to repaint his neck since it was a mess of shadow and scratches. The original shadow gave it some depth and unfortunately its gone now. It would also see that I have somehow greated a new outline to the right side of his face. I guess through trying to kill all the scratches what do you think?
The main issues for this post are repairing his mustache and blotchy skin.
My process is as follows:

lasso to sperate him from the original background.
Auto Levels
Desature
Major spot healing on parts that really stand out
Shadow.highlight adjustment
Neat image noise reduction.- Just WOW!
More major spot healing
Perhaps another go and shadow/highlight adjustment on the Jacet

Maybe its because of all my spot healing. But his hands now look like he got that MJ disease. His face does too but not as awful

Firs the mustache, I copied HIS right side and pasted it ti his left side. But you can see where the muchstache just seems to stop rather than go up under the nose.