Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Severely Faded and damaged image

Old 08-02-2005, 02:30 PM
Severely Faded and damaged image

Hello I am new to retouch and relativaly new to restoration.

A friend gave me this picture and wanted me to see if i could bring out the girl in the picture. She told me she had blue eyes and was wearing a green dress. I took the original and desaturated it. Then I colored it with layers and blending to come up the second one. Everyone I have should it too said it was creepy. I need some advise on how to take the creepy out of it and any other imput would be appriciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Scan0001_001forums.jpg (86.5 KB, 59 views)
File Type: jpg after-fuzzyforums.jpg (75.8 KB, 66 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-02-2005, 07:30 PM
One thing I would do is actually de-saturate some of the colour a little bit ... It is far too "bright" in my opinion given it is obviously an old photo ..

"Less is more ..." ...
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-02-2005, 08:19 PM
Hi tgr,
Given that this is a difficult photo, I think you did a good job of bringing back the details. I agree with Gary that the colors you've chosen is a little too bright for this old photo. You need to soften the selection too, so the girl won't look like she was "pasted" in the photo.
As for the eyes, this is where the word "creepy" comes in. Don't let it stand out too much and should blend with the rest of the face. Either that or don't put it at all.
Again, nice restore. I couldn't have done better.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-02-2005, 09:58 PM
i did a couple of these. the first thing is to desaturate things a bit, get some better balance and some better contrast.