RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

need help w/ color loss? shift? bad photographer? Ha!

Old 08-06-2005, 02:34 AM

Unhappy need help w/ color loss? shift? bad photographer? Ha!

Hi everyone, I'm new here and also to retouching. My friend wanted me to 'fix' her photo from 1980. She's Cuban and her husband is Peruvian but somehow when I use either Photoshop LE 5.0 or Gimp's Levels 'black and white' eye droppers, I end up with two people who have blue or purple lips, and their clothes melt into the awful backdrop. I am not sure they would have worn clothes that are so similar in style to the backdrop but then it WAS 1980 and mauve was in style. Any ideas of what to do next? I am a total beginner so curves, masks and layers are still foreign to me. (But I am willing to learn.) It seems the photo is really over-exposed in the middle and since they are cut off on the sides, I'd like to think it is just a crappy photographer that is causing the problem---Ha! I'd appreciate any thoughts. Tabby
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img007-1 smaller.jpg (42.8 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg img008-1 smaller.jpg (57.8 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg img0061 smaller.jpg (74.8 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-06-2005, 09:23 AM

hi tabby m. and welcome to RP

i'm a bit curious here. why the split in the image and could you post the original that's not split? and what do you mean by 'cut off at the sides'?