Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Portrait Correction: I need some advice pls

Old 08-19-2005, 07:59 AM
Exclamation Portrait Correction: I need some advice pls

Hello RP!
I'm new to your site! My name is Roxana (Biby is my nickname) and i'm from Romania. I'm a newbie in PS (7.0).
I've read all of yours tutorials and I tried to do something with a picture I had. I'm not really satisfied but I think it's a good start... What do u think???
Anyone can explain to me what I did wrong and how can I fix it?

Thank you very much for your attention and.. sorry for my english!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bride_original.jpg (48.9 KB, 73 views)
File Type: jpg bride_retouch.jpg (49.3 KB, 77 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-19-2005, 12:14 PM

Welcome to RetouchPro!

Here is my answer to your question:

What many of us tend to do when we are newbies is to do TOO MUCH. I know I took away too many wrinkles from my family photos when I started practicing retouching -- trying to make them look like they were teenagers instead of the wise old people they really were. We need to remember that perfect skin is NOT realistic, and that taking away all of a person's "imperfections" leaves them looking like a plastic doll -- not themselves. Real skin has pores to let the body breathe -- it's not just a slick, smooth layer. Reduce the shiny spots, smooth out the skin a bit, possibly 'heal" the rough spot above her upper lip, but don't smooth her skin so much, and do not erase her moles completely -- they are part of her.