RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Newbie -- Need Help Cleaning up Dirt

Old 12-26-2005, 10:03 PM

Newbie -- Need Help Cleaning up Dirt

I've attached copies of a photo of my husband's father that I've been trying to restore. I'm new at this; but, as you can see, I've managed a fair job of cleaning up the image itself. However, I'd like to save the matte also. I can't figure out how to clean up the 'dirt' without destroying the detail of the embossing. Any help would really be appreciated. I've struggled with this for quite a while.

Thanks, in advance.

K.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Original.jpg (98.4 KB, 80 views)
File Type: jpg Current.jpg (97.9 KB, 77 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-26-2005, 10:54 PM

ah, a michigander! welcome to RP, kcole. (i used to live in the ann arbor/ypsilanti area for years).

there is a very simple technique for handling most of what you're wanting here. duplicate the layer. then, make a new, blank raster layer. highlight the 2nd layer (the dupe of the background), and use your color picker to sample the most prevalent color on the matte. on the blank raster layer use your airbrush/spraypaint tool set at a fairly low opacity (i used 18 and lower) and simply 'spray' over the areas you wish to change. the beauty of this is that you still keep a fair amount of texture and can erase anything on the sprayed layer that isnt right. very simple.

now, i went ahead and did up a quick job on your picture to illustrate. this took all of about 15 minutes or so and i didnt do much of the detail work. that's YOUR job but it shldnt be that tough. when working around the studio name embossing, i simply used a smaller brush.