Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Bringing Detail Back Into Faded Area / Removing Color Overlays

Old 01-10-2006, 12:57 PM
Bringing Detail Back Into Faded Area / Removing Color Overlays

I am currentley working on Challenge #82:

This is my first try at a restoration and I hope it's alright to ask for advice on challenge pieces, (I'm not really doing it to submit but rather just to learn).

I'm removed most of the superficial stuff the parts I am having problems with are the are that has been taped over and the fading in the lower right corner.

I could rebuild the entire corner using copying in a section of brick then giving it a unique looking with some clone stamping, burning, dodging, but I'm wondering what the 'proper' method is? I've been thinking of creating a mask for that brick area as well as the girl's faded dress area and then trying to increase the contrast in that area to try and pull out some more initial detail to work with... perhaps something along those lines?

My other problem as I mentioned is the area that has been tinted in color below the tape. I love the brown aged look of the photo and want to leave that intact but I would live to remove the darker tint below the tape. I might just try and flat wash the color of the rest of the bricks across the taped area (once I remember how to do that) then patch/heal the edges of the tape and the tears then deal with the areas of tape where it went into the girls head seperately. But again I'm not sure of the method the 'pro's' would take in doing this.

I'm sure I could fudge my way through the rest of it but I'd really appreciate some advice on how to handle it properly so I'll know for next time.

And I understand if giving advice on challenge pieces is not allowed.

Thanks much,