Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Getting rid of scanning artifact

Old 01-18-2006, 08:58 AM
Getting rid of scanning artifact

I'm new to photorestoration, but with this picture I cannot get past the scanning stage. The quality of the original is not bad until I scan it, and this is what I get. The clouding on the table, best seen in the blue channel, is a scanning artifact that I cannot get rid of. Is this moire? If it is, it doesn't improve with any of the techniques I have found to eliminate moire. I have tried scanning at different resolutions, various noise filters and blurring effects, all to no avail.

I would really appreciate any help I can get.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg baby3.jpg (68.8 KB, 59 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-18-2006, 09:03 AM
Smile Not moire

If you google moire you can see samples of it illustrated photographically. What I see in this scan is what we see in many older images...the actual wear on the surface of the emulsion of the paper stock. It's the wearing and washing out over time. Restoration is what we do to improve that.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-18-2006, 10:21 AM
Moire generally comes from scanning a printed piece rather than a photo. In a photo you may pick up artifacts or patterns from paper texture. Moire has a distinctive rosette pattern derived from the angles at which the CMYK inks are printed on paper.

I cleaned up this far by running a pretty strong pass with Neat Image, a levels adjustment, and a curves adjustment
Attached Images
File Type: jpg swampys-baby3.jpg (51.4 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by Swampy; 01-18-2006 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-18-2006, 11:11 AM