RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Nebraska State Fair

Old 02-02-2006, 06:32 PM

Nebraska State Fair

This is a picture that my girl friend gave to me to restore. I have to say first off that I am a newbie. Ok, This was taken at the fair when my girl friends dad had a booth set up. He has passed away 20-30 years ago, and my girl friend likes this picture of him. I am having trouble with the two bottom corners. I cant seem to be able to straighten out (or figure out) what is there. On the left side it looks like a couple of plants, but the right side ???? Can anyone help me. If you can, please let me know how you did it ( remember Im new), so I can do it. I am having alot of fun with photshop, but I am in need of someone who has done something like this before. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg scan0010.jpg (98.5 KB, 58 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-02-2006, 06:33 PM

nebraska state fair

should I crop it?
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-02-2006, 07:47 PM

Yes - Crop

You can crop up to the edge of the picture frames and the beam on the right side and not loose any detail of the shot. Restoration would be a lot easier on everything else. I'm just a trying to learn myself.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-02-2006, 08:06 PM

It's all too easy to get obsessed with trying to restore or recreate every last bloody detail in a photograph. The important question, in my view, is: what's the picture really about?

In this case: a plant in the lower left-hand corner? Unlikely. Whatever unknowable stuff there might have been on the right? No way. Your girlfriend's dad? Of course.

The fact is, most amateur snapshots are composed way too loosely in the first place and can usually be helped by some - often a lot - of judicious cropping.