RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Remove Spots

Old 03-06-2006, 08:14 PM

Question Remove Spots

I am fairly new to restoring and retouching and am in the "learn as I do mode". The attached photo has a paper texture which I can minimize with the FFT method as described in the tutorials section. I plan on adding color to the photo but I find that I cannot find a way to clean up the white "apron". I would appreciate any advice as how I should proceed. Thank you all in advance.

Rich Rustic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Romanian1.jpg (84.0 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2006, 06:01 AM
Patron

Dirty Apron

Well I would recommend that you post a larger image. In the range of 800k. At any rate I ran Neat Image on your entire photo. On the apron, I placed a new layer on top that was empty. I used overlay blending mode on that layer. Using a soft, low opacity, white brush I painted in that layer to lighten up the darker areas of the apron. Having a tablet is very helpful.

Sometimes if you scan and save the image in color you can remove defects by identifying a specific color channel that has the fewest defects and working with it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Apron.jpg (7.3 KB, 40 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2006, 06:25 AM

Smile Thanks philbach

As I am now at work, I will try what you suggested tonight. The bit of work you already did shows good improvement. If I have difficulty in what you suggested, I will repost the picture at a higher res. (I thought you could only attach pics at 100 res????????????)

thanks for your time

Rich Rustic
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-07-2006, 06:38 AM
Patron

Posting Images