RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

stubborn as a mule

Old 03-12-2006, 04:42 PM

stubborn as a mule

A friend of mine at work would like me to do something with pictures of his late father, who passed away 20 years ago. He came from a very poor family, so there werent alot of photos of him. I was able to fix some of them, but this one seems important to him. I am a newbie, so if anyone can help me, please tell me how , so I can learn along with the others. Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg scan0093.jpg (77.7 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2006, 05:06 PM

Greetings.
First, convert to LAB colour, take out all the sepia.
Use your burn tool to darken the mid and light tones.
Use the measure tool to define the vertical then rotate arbitrarily.
Then the fun starts with rebuilding the missing bits.
Have fun !
Dafyd the Scribe, New Zealand
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2006, 05:40 PM

Well, that does make a big difference, but I guess I need a little more help.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2006, 06:49 PM

The face is of course the main part that I really want clear. I can get just about all of the rest to look satisfactory.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2006, 08:28 PM

Dafyd, welcome to RetouchPRO

Quote:
Originally Posted by dafydscribe
First, convert to LAB colour, take out all the sepia.
I would agree, in general, that converting to LAB will usually give a good greyscale image. But (you knew there was a "but" coming) in the case of restoration this doesn't always apply, and the Channel Mixer (set to Monochrome) is usually a preferred tool.