Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

New here, how do I?

Old 05-19-2006, 01:00 PM
New here, how do I?

Hello all! I am new here and am working on restoring some family photos. Here is a photo of my father and his twin brother. I need help fixing the missing information on the face of my uncle. How do I fix this? As you can see there is some information left over but very faded. I am new at PhotoShop, but am able to get around in it pretty good. I just need to know what steps to take.
I also would like to know how to get rid of the other fingerprints. Thanks for all help.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg JoeandDes.jpg (99.3 KB, 131 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2006, 05:40 PM
Hi Rita,

Welcome to Retouch Pro.

Had a very quick go with your picture, so the end result is a bit rough. I did a rough selection round the boy's face using quick mask, then copied and pasted to another layer. Adjusted levels to get as close a match as possible, then cloned to blend edges.

There's so many finger prints on the image that I don't think you'll be able to remove them all without spending a great deal of time. I removed the major ones with clone tool.

Adjusted levels to up contrast (not sure that was a good idea as it increased the noise).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg JoeandDes 2.jpg (94.5 KB, 92 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-26-2006, 03:41 AM
Hi Rita,

OK, I'll try and give you a little more detail on what I did.

I've re-worked the picture, and I'll post the new one below (not sure whether it's better/worse or than my last post, but technique used is likely to be similar).

Sorry I couldn't e-mail this to you, but my ISP's e-mail server is playing up at the moment.