Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Overlaying misregistered or offset images

Old 08-05-2006, 11:38 PM
Overlaying misregistered or offset images

I'm a total beginner at this so please bear with me. Also, this is my first post so "hello, all"

I have two images taken at different exposures to acquire details in a scene with very bright & dark areas.

I would like to combine them to produce a single image. I think I understand the process of using layer masks etc in PS. However, both images were acquired hand-held so they don't exactly overlay. I'll therefore need to crop both to end up with a common area with the same no of lines & pixels (x & y).

Is there any way of doing the overlaying & cropping automatically to produce two images of the same size that overlay either PS CS2 or another piece of software?

If these were satellite images, I would find a set of common ground control points to identify the image offset & then resample and or subset the two images but this is a pretty labour intensive procedure. I have done this in the past automatically using cross correlation techniques to find the image offsets but had to write the program myself.

I be very grateful for any help readers can offer.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-06-2006, 12:05 AM
Hi Oz

I'm sure someone here will have a much better option for you. But you can try this;

Have your two pictures on layers in the file. Change the top pictures blend mode to Difference.