RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Can't draw lines in CS

Old 08-12-2006, 04:38 AM

Can't draw lines in CS

Forgive me for being a complete beginner (comparatively), but... I've just upgraded to CS, and there are one or two things that continue to fox me. Start with this:

In Photoshop 7 , I could draw a line using the pencil/brush tool (sorry if the terms are incorrect, I've got the French language version) by doing a first click where I wanted the line to start, moving to the other end, pressing shift, and clicking again. Hey presto, a nice line with the selected form. I can't get CS to do this. Any advice? Thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-12-2006, 08:44 AM

Hm, press the shift-key BEFORE the first mouse-click
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-12-2006, 09:45 AM
Patron

Lines

Welcome to Retouch Pro!. Why don't you try the Shape tool which you will find directly under the Text tool. If you click and hold the mouse down it will display a number of different shape tools. You can draw perfectly straight lines, as paths or as a vector. You can choose color and width and add arrows.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-12-2006, 12:42 PM

Welcome,
The pencil/brush tool, is great for drawing. What you need to do is hold the shift key down during the whole procedure of drawing and what it will do is draw lines in between each point. This is great for tracing, and here are a couple of tips:

Under filter up on your menu bar select Stylize> Diffuse. When the window pops up for Diffuse, you want to select Anisotropic. Anisotropic shuffles pixels in the direction of the least change in color. But I use it to create a smooth transition between the different points of a line drawing. In other words, it takes the bumps out.