RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

under exposed image

Old 02-21-2007, 01:21 AM

under exposed image

here is the image that i am trying to work on. I am soo bad at adding light!! it seems i just go too bright and have trouble evening out the light. I have tried, alpha channels and curves, the exposure and the shadow highlight feature but I just cant seem to get this down! I have no trouble with skin, or hair or anything thats pretty normal, but when photogs give me pics like this to retouch I get stuck. Please anyone with experience in underexposed photos please help me out! I've included the original and my loser attempt at fixing it. Any tips you can give would be great!!!! Im not a beginner beginner but i need to figure out the professional way of handling situations like these.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg _X5Y4126b.jpg (74.1 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg _X5Y4126.jpg (93.7 KB, 67 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-21-2007, 01:27 AM

Re: under exposed image

When faced with an underexposed image, my first try is always creating a new layer, changing it to screen on the layers pallet and then working the opacity til I am close. I then flatten and work. Most times that works without making things too difficult. You can also do it within a selection as well like her right eye should have had a reflector bounced into it. Try making a nice feathered selection, layer via copy and play with the mode on the layers menu. Hope this helps.
Chris
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-21-2007, 01:33 AM

hey Chris,

Thanks that really helped a lot!! I never quite knew what "screen" did, but your right its definitely easier then what I was doing, and makes a much easier starting point.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-21-2007, 08:45 AM
Patron

Lithodia,