RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Help with a Sundamaged scene, discolored little boy

Old 10-06-2007, 03:04 PM

Red face Help with a Sundamaged scene, discolored little boy

Hello forum, I'm new, I had no idea there was a site like this. I trolled for only 2 days before starting this post. I've been trying to color correct this photo and even after finding some tutorials about similar problems, I am having a hard time getting this kid's skin color correct or at least closer to natural. I'm a Graphic Designer who' uses the CS3 suite regularly but photo-retouching is fairly confusing to me: Blank Layers, Unsharp Masks, Gaussian Blurs, what?!

A family friend approached me with the request to restore this photo, and after spending a solid 5 hours with very little results, I realize I need an expert's help. (The story behind the pic: apparently her son had Multiple Schlerosis and was bound to this wheel chair, less than a month after this picture was taken he suffered a stroke and has never been as lucid. He's in his thirties now, so I guess this pic is about 20 years old.)

If any of you Photoshop Gods would like to try their hand at this, please do! Also guys, my original file is 25 inches wide at 300dpi (way too big to post at orig size) so I'd really love for you to let me know the steps you took to achieve your results so that I can duplicate them with the larger image. I plan on printing this for the boy's mother at 13x19 inches on my Epson R1800.