RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Green and bright

Old 04-05-2008, 07:03 PM

Green and bright

Hey all.

I have about 7 years' casual experience with using Photoshop to touch up and restore pictures, but this one's just stumping me. My usual bag of tricks aren't working, so I thought I'd pose it to some experts to see if you have any suggestions for me.

I'm trying to edit the picture of the girl holding a very handsome guinea pig ('greened.jpg'). Kodak didn't do so well with their colors when the film was developed, and it'd be a hassle for me to go back to the person who took it in order to ask it get printed again.

Every time I try to use "adjust levels" or "adjust color" the entire thing gets far too washed out. Can anyone give me a start? For reference, I'm also attaching a picture which gives a better approximation of the girl's usual skin tone and hair color.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg greened.jpg (88.9 KB, 72 views)
File Type: jpg reference.jpg (90.5 KB, 40 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2008, 07:59 PM

Re: Green and bright

A quick CB while pie eyed on an uncalibrated monitor. May look horrible to me in the daylight, but its a start for you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cavielow.jpg (78.5 KB, 41 views)
File Type: jpg cavie2low.jpg (72.5 KB, 26 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2008, 08:07 PM

I "ABSOLUTELY NEVER!!!" use AUTO anything in Photoshop. Never have, never will, despise it, think it should be an amendment to the constitution forbidding its use. Butttttttttttttt!!!!! For possible ease of use for you, not knowing your skill level I hit the auto color button and unbelievably on my monitor it was dead on.

Image, adjust, auto color.

Let me know.

c
Reply With Quote top