RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

how to achieve this grade

Old 04-02-2009, 09:53 PM

how to achieve this grade

Hello lovely peeps,
I came across this set of photos on flickr and was taken by how "fresh" they felt ...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sarahst...7605201160094/

I'm looking to emulate the skin tones and general colour grade. The cyan laden wave was a clue but the skin tones are just so nice. I am particularily taken with how it looks so high key too, I've been playing with screen blending modes and hue/sat dropping out colours and pushing the lightness on certain channels..but I'm failing. Please help :-)

I'm shooting a wedding on the beach (first beach wedding for me as a photographer I'm as excited as the bride I expect) Any help that you guys can bring either for the post or hints for shooting I would greatly appreciate it.
B
xx
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-03-2009, 08:20 AM

Re: how to achieve this grade

As I expected ISO is 400 and exposure 0 EV,this gives you white sky(burned out).Can you adjust Shutter Speed on your camera?Rest is PS.

See example(image is taken from Google)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wed beach orig.jpg (94.6 KB, 76 views)
File Type: jpg wed beach ret.jpg (92.8 KB, 86 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-03-2009, 09:03 AM

The lighting in these shots also hugely affect the soft tones of these images. Somewhat overcast natural light with a subtle fill in light - probably on camera flash set to TTL or EV -1 on the wedding and guys pics, and it seems (by looking at the eyes of the girls) that there is some reflector or scrime being used there. It comes down to soft light and filled in shadows.

Last edited by Soul_of_Kilik; 04-03-2009 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-08-2009, 02:58 AM