Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Quick Technique for removing multiple scratches

Old 05-05-2009, 11:47 PM
Quick Technique for removing multiple scratches

I am fairly new to restoration and need help with this image. I posted a cropped example to point out the many scratches that need fixed. I find that when I scan my images, I notice tons and tons of small thin scratches. For a while I have been going through by hand with the healing brush fixing them, but figure there are better and faster techniques out there. Photoshop dust & scratches won't fix them unless settings are boosted, leaving the image super blurry. Thanks in advance for all of your input! Also, how would you remove the small stains?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg quickfix.jpg (95.2 KB, 72 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-06-2009, 07:53 AM
Re: Quick Technique for removing multiple scratche

Jaxx, there are many ways to remove the stains. For this image my choice would be the following:
Duplicate Bkgnd layer. Next Image>Apply Image to apply the Green channel to the duplicated bkgnd layer - normal blend mode 100% opacity. (Your layer will be grayscale). Change the blend mode of the layer from Normal to Luminosity. Next add a blank layer on top of the last layer and set its blend mode to Color. Next select the piant brush tool, alt+Click on a good color adjacentr to a stained area and paint over the stained areas.

As for the scratches, they are randon apparently from abrasion of the surface. I would use a good noise filter like Noiseware where you have very fine controls to wipe out all of the fine scratches. The large splotches would be better handled by the clone or healing tools.