Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Lighting flare?

Old 05-15-2010, 06:07 PM
Lighting flare?

Hi, I am a newbie to the forum and to photo restoration. I recently got married and used some one-time cameras on the table for the guest. I have a few photos that are pretty cool, just need a little touch up, but one of the cameras had issues. Every photo has a transparent red/orange circle in the center and another (more yellow) oval off to the side. Here is an example

I know that the photos will never been fantastic, but I would like to try to fix the orange circles. I found a few tutorials on similar problems, but none of them give very much information on what to look for in the adjustments. I tried quite a few times to figure it out, but just not getting it. Would love it if someone would be willing to do sort of "Idiots guide" for me. I would really like to learn how to do this.

Reply With Quote top
Old 05-16-2010, 02:21 PM
Re: Lighting flare?

Here's one approach:

The blue channel showed the least amount of staining. In fact, the red-orange circle in the middle was pretty much gone there. The big yellow blob on the photo's right side was reduced to a light area, but detail still showed. So -

1) Add a new layer and set its blending mode to luminosity.
2) With the new luminosity layer selected, do image>apply image, choose the blue channel from the background layer, and apply it to the layer.