Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Need a little help with colorizing a photo

Old 07-10-2010, 04:08 PM
Need a little help with colorizing a photo

I am still new to the repair, retouch and colorizing of old pics.

can anyone tell me why when i try to colour part of an image it dose not
show up as the colour i choose, it shows up much lighter or not at all.

any help at all would be great.

Thanks in advance Stevie...
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-10-2010, 07:48 PM
Re: Need a little help with colorizing a photo

Stevie, in order to help you understand why, we need to understand what procedure you are using to color the image. It would also be very helpful if you could attach an image of the before and after.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-10-2010, 07:59 PM

Gorgieboy (Stevie), Welcome to RetouchPRO Hope you enjoy your stay here and make lots of friends. Poke around, ask questions, have fun!

Read this entire thread : Colouring the pictures: ¿How to? before clicking any links and it should provide some fantastic coloring guidelines.. especially after clicking the appropriate links (the first are dead ends. but updated later.. which is the reason for reading the entire thread first)

Be sure to check all the other links like from PanPan and Chillin.... might even download PanPans Gradient maps

...Clicking the search button above and using the search word "colorizing" should yield some amazing info also..

Last edited by 0lBaldy; 07-10-2010 at 11:29 PM. Reason: Name change
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-11-2010, 01:44 AM

I won't even touch the topic about the different colorizing methods ... ... as for everything else in image manipulation it's absolutely a matter of personal preference.

But I think I can answer your question ...