Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Removing large stain

Old 10-27-2010, 08:28 AM
Removing large stain

Hi, I'm new here and need some help (found this site VIA google). I work at a One Hour photo and when management got wind that I had basic photoshop knowledge they decided to offer "professional restoration" services. Now I have learned some great tricks and techniques while doing it but most of my work IMO looks amateur-ish (I flat out tell customers that I have no training and all my knowledge is self taught so while I can do minor stuff well, the more extreme restorations might not be the best). So far no one has brought in anything too difficult but my buddy/co-worker brought in a photo to see if I could restore it. It has a huge dark stain on it and while I had removed stains in the past I cannot figure out how to remove one so large that covers such a "busy" spot. So far I have messed with the red channel to make it a bit more transparent and then used the clone stamp and healing brush to edit the house paneling. The window and face is where I am having the most trouble. I have attached the original and what I have done so far.

EDIT: Also I am using Photoshop CS2 (we only have Win2k here at my work) so please exclude any tips using tools added after CS2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Surber001.jpg (99.2 KB, 70 views)
File Type: jpg Surber001-edit.jpg (96.4 KB, 53 views)

Last edited by Mitch2025; 10-27-2010 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-27-2010, 06:02 PM
Re: Removing large stain