RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Help with parents' wedding pict

Old 10-17-2011, 09:42 AM

Help with parents' wedding pict

Hi,

I am trying to restore an old wedding/family photo for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary which is coming up in December, and I just started learning photoshop so that I can finish this.

This is a great site. Thank you to all the coaches and tutors. I have picked up quite a few tips on fixing the fold/crease and the tear and the small spots/blemishes. However, I am at a loss on the the light whitish patches (looks like humidity/water stains) across the whole picture, and also the scotch tape marks. Obviously, the photo wasn't stored very well.

Seems like the right middle section is the best preserved with good contrast, brightness and clarity. I am trying to get the rest of the picture to look close to this.

Any advise on how to approach this will be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dad wedding_sample5.jpg (94.7 KB, 118 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-17-2011, 06:42 PM
Patron

Re: Help with parents' wedding pict

cssiow, Welcome to RetouchPRO Hope you enjoy your stay here and make lots of friends. Poke around, ask questions, have fun!

Can you post a larger resolution copy of the original scan.... you can host your image elsewhere and attach a link in the thread.
Other Hosts if you do not have your own site:
ImageVenue.com (3Meg max, free) pixentral.com (2Meg max, free) photobucket.com (1 Meg max free, 5 Meg PRO) mediafire.com (100 Meg per file, free) post a link in the thread to the site that is hosting the larger image.

A copy of your WIP (Work In Progress) would also help in garnering suggestions and help