RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

patchiness and shadow, esp. on 1 side of face

Old 12-10-2012, 08:25 PM

patchiness and shadow, esp. on 1 side of face

This is my first attempt at restoring old photos. I read as much as I could and watched many videos on the web. I used a Channel Mixer layer, then a Curves layer, then Multiply (92% opacity), then Linear Burn (14% opacity). I also did I lot of repairs, and dodging.

The issue to me is the patchiness of areas of light on the face - such as on the left as you look at him (the man's right) lower cheek, between the eyebrows, on the tip of the nose, etc.

I am not attaching the original because it is extremely weathered.

Any comments or suggestion would be very welcome. This picture means a lot to me and many others in my family.

Thanks very much

Last edited by RCraig; 01-13-2013 at 09:57 PM. Reason: progressed image
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-11-2012, 12:40 AM

Re: patchiness and shadow, esp. on 1 side of face

Depending on the size of your original scan, you can try a noise removal or careful smudging followed by brushwork, dodge and burn to reshape the face and keep the resemblance to the original and reapply some noise back in. Must be really careful not to lose the details though.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-11-2012, 09:27 AM

Thank you so much for your advice. Yes, one problem is that the scan is low resolution. But it is all I have. I did do some dodging, as the shadow on the face was quite dark. I tried noise removal, but am not very skilled at it - was not sure that it helped in the right places.