RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Can you please explain what is happening???

Old 03-06-2013, 12:38 AM

Can you please explain what is happening???

This has been making me insane for 2 days now.

Hopefully I can explain this clearly, but I'm starting to lose track of everything I've been trying.

If all else fails, I'll try to do it again and give a step by step of exactly what I'm doing and maybe someone can help me.

First of all... I'm not a retoucher... I'm just a photographer... so I'm sorry if this question thoroughly irritates anyone, haha.

I have an image that I started out with in Lightroom. After doing some editing in Lightroom, I exported to Photoshop.

After doing some Calvin Hollywood trick to the image, I was satisfied with how it looked and then exported the image... only to find out it looked like a ROYAL mess in the JPEG.

It was less contrasty, much more grainy, the blacks were faded... it was just horrible all around.

At first I thought that maybe I had pushed the file information too far with my editing, so I went BACK to Lightroom... started all over again... did a less extreme edit and exported to Photoshop *again*.

Same crap happened.

So ignoring the fact that this file is no longer "retouched" because I got so frustrated with having to do it over and over and over again to get the same crappy results... here is what it looks like:

This is a screen shot of the image in Photoshop... it's still a .psd at this point:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8248/8...5df1eae1_z.jpg

Then after I saved that .psd and reimported into Lightroom, this is what the Lightroom preview looked like:

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8090/8...55b1db54_z.jpg

Then when I tried exporting the .psd as a JPEG through Lightroom, this was the result: