Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Please Help Restore Photo of my dad!

Old 09-07-2002, 09:35 PM
Please Help Restore Photo of my dad!

Hi everyone,

Tonight I have read a few posts of people who lurked for awhile and finally posted. Well, in that spirit, here's another lurker that is posting for the first time in the hopes of getting help from some of the pros.

I scanned a photo of my dad that I told him could be restored with Photoshop. I have been playing around with PS for a few months now, and I like to think I've learned a lot. But I'm really having trouble restoring this picture.

I have tried a few different techniques, such as using the decrack action, usm, the healing brush, but haven't been able to completely fix this picture.

My dad is coming into town in a month, so I'm appealing to the group. I was hoping to have something that I could print out on some photo-quality paper for him as a kind of surprise. That, or course, brings up another question: when do I convert the image to cmyk? Before or after all the touch-ups?

Here's a link to the image (larger size).

Here 's a smaller version of the pic.

If you try your hand at this, please let me know what techniques you used. Thanks all!
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-07-2002, 10:15 PM
Try duping the layer, applying heavy dust and scratches filter, and setting blend mode to darken. This might help knock out some of the white bits. Actually, you're pretty lucky in that most of the specks are much whiter than anything in the picture.

As for when to convert to CMYK, my own recommendation is "don't".
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-07-2002, 10:18 PM
Hi mooker, Welcome to RetouchPRO! I'm glad you decided to come out of hiding!