RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Old photo with color spots and yellow trash

Old 07-23-2003, 07:22 PM

Old photo with color spots and yellow trash

Hi group,

I am new to RetouchPro and must say I am very excited to be here.

The attached picture is one I have been messing with for about a month. I can not seem to find a way to clean this picture and would love some advice.

The original photo looks bad but when I scanned the image, all the trash came screaming out. Yikes!!! There is not a good place to begin trying to clone out all the damage. I am new to photoshop and havent figured out how to work with channels to delete and replace the damaged ones.

I am craving knowledge and want to learn how to fix this picture.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Nathan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg father and daughter.jpg (98.5 KB, 82 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-23-2003, 07:52 PM

Hi Nathan,

First off, welcome to RetouchPro!

As for your picture, I've got to run out the door in two minutes, but I took a quick look at your photo and it appears that a lot of the damage is JPEG artifacts. That said, for the size image that you posted (both in height & width and file size), I'm surprised at the amount of JPEG artifacts, which makes me wonder what format you saved the image in when you scanned it? Did you scan it directly into Photoshop, or did you scan it to a file? And if you saved it do a file, did you save it as JPEG or TIFF (or PSD)? If you saved it as JPEG, try rescanning and saving as TIFF or PSD. That will help reduce the artifacts.

If my guess that you saved as JPEG is false, I'll be back later with some other suggestions. There are other things that need fixing besides the JPEG artifacts.

Jeanie