RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Image Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Image Help Got a problem image? Don't know where to begin? Upload images and ask our users what they think or if they can help

Help with pageant photo

Old 07-31-2003, 02:21 AM

Help with pageant photo

Hi, I am new and this is my first attempt at retouching a photo. I am doing it for my daughter's pageant photo. Can you please tell me if I am doing OK? It looks good to me, but I didn't know how to use layers and so I don't know if I could have done better if I had known more about what I was doing. Please tell me what might look better. It is supposed to be sort of a "glamour shot" like what MAA does. I know it doesn't come close, but I want to learn. I will post the original and my attempt. Thank you all so much.
TxWildflower
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pageant head shot 1.jpg (88.2 KB, 131 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2003, 02:51 AM

Help with pageant photo

Here it is. I hope.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pageant head shot 1 004.jpg (95.0 KB, 149 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-31-2003, 03:41 PM

I really like the crop you gave this. I hope you don't mind but I gave this one a try also. I made my vesrsion a little softer than your's. One thing I noticed about your's also was the double catchlight in her left eye, I removed that and I didn't crop mine either. I liked the original background so I didnt mess with that.

Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pageant_girl_kb.jpg (96.4 KB, 115 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2003, 11:40 AM

I don't mind at all. I really like the softer version. I changed the background trying to lighten up the overall mood of the picture. I don't seem to be able to do much with her eyes without them looking "fixed". I just know that if I keep studying this site, I will learn how to do it. Thanks for taking the time to help.
TxWildflower
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2003, 01:45 PM